Tags

, , ,

Painting is poetry that is seen rather than felt, and poetry is painting that is felt rather than seen.

~ Leonardo Da Vinci

The smoke has cleared, the dust has settled. Things have finally returned to normal. Well, as normal as they were before. It’s been a month since my last post, “Quoth the Raven…”, was Freshly Pressed. Boy, what a great feeling it was to add that “Freshly Pressed” badge to my blog!

Freshly Pressed Badge1

It was exciting to get the “Congratulations” email (which irritatingly enough, ended up in my junk folder of all places!). But the best part wasn’t the notification or the badge. Nor was it the 190 likes, the 148 comments, the 130+ new blog followers I picked up, or all the neat people I met along the way. No, the BEST part of this experience was telling my best friend about it.

That’s right. Sending off that “OMG! My post got Freshly Pressed!” message to Paul gave me the best feeling. I literally sent that within 60 seconds of discovering the email. Because c’mon, what’s the point of something cool happening to you if you can’t share the joy? In fact, the only thing that tops this moment? Getting the message from him back in November telling ME that HIS post — “Conformity’s Critical Eye” — was Freshly Pressed.

Without Paul, “Quoth the Raven …” would never have come to fruition anyway. It would still be sitting in my drafts folder right now, never to see the light of day. Thank you, Boss, for all the encouragement and for your impeccable editing skills. I literally couldn’t have done it without you. You’re amazing. ;)

So the big question is … what comes next? Well, as the self-proclaimed “Seeker of Truth”, the possibilities are endless. I’ll admit right now that I’m not impressed with myself. I’ve let an entire month go by and I haven’t posted a thing. This was not my intention. In fact, I have no fewer than five blog post drafts on the go right now: Artists, Templars, books to read or skip, a special collaborative Twilight Zone piece w/ Paul, who happens to be Mr. Twilight Zone himself …

But there’s a problem: I don’t want to write. I want to paint.

I go through these phases – for a while I don’t want to even see a paintbrush, but I’m gripped by the urge to write. Then the writing becomes monotonous and I’m filled with a desire to paint. And that’s the phase I’m in right now. I’ve spent the winter writing, trying to avoid my ice box studio, and my fingers are now itching to ditch my keyboard in favour of the texture of canvas.

You fail only if you stop writing.

~ Ray Bradbury

But no worries, I don’t intend to abandon my blog. Not even for a short while. I have big plans for 2013. And with the endless support of My Muse, I promise none of you will regret sticking around to see what the Seeker of Truth can seek out.

Thanks to all of you for reading, sharing, liking, commenting, following and reblogging. Stay tuned. We’ve only just begun …

I learned never to empty the well of my writing, but always to stop when there was still something there in the deep part of the well, and let it refill at night from the springs that fed it.

~ Ernest Hemingway

