Tags

, , , , , ,

Last week I set out to write an important letter to a friend. A “real” letter. Handwritten, not typed. I hate that this necessary skill is sadly becoming a thing of the past. So I for one like to write a good old-fashioned letter once in a while to keep my award-winning penmanship skills in tip-top condition.

Letter

I wanted some lined paper, but not the cheap school-grade three-ringed stuff.

Like myself, my Mom was very organized. She had tons of notebooks filled with finances, schedules and even what we each got for Christmas! (Because knowing that will come in handy SOME day, I’m sure…)

I remembered that she had always used these large pads of heavy lined paper — just the sort I was looking for. I went looking for one of her old pads of paper, and when I found it, I was pleasantly surprised to find something un-business-related written in her hand. A Google search revealed (as I suspected) that they are not her personal words, but the sentiment is still worth sharing, I think.

***

God said…

Don’t look to the bigness of your need, look to the bigness of your God. Your circumstances are hindrances to seeing MY ABILITIES.

If you keep your eyes on your circumstances, the devil will use your circumstances to defeat you, and accuse the Word of God… the written and living WORD.

Jesus and Peter

YOUR VICTORY is in keeping your eyes on the bigness of your GOD and HIS ABILITY.

HE HAS PROMISED to take you step by step by step, not all at once…

But step…

by step and…

Each step will be a MIRACLE.

***

Thanks, Mom. Leave it to you to know just what I need, when I need it. And to somehow provide it even when you’re not here.

“Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy set before Him He endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.”

~ Hebrews 12:1-2

