Tags

, , , , ,

17

What is love?

Is it words spoken?

34

“I am the good shepherd; I know my sheep and my sheep know me, and I lay down my life for the sheep. No one takes it from me, but I lay it down of my own accord. I have the authority to lay it down and authority to take it up again.”
~ John 10:14-19

Is it seen in an expression?

37

“Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. By this all men will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.”
~ John 13:34-36

Is it found in an embrace?

1

“While Jesus was still talking to the crowd, His mother and brothers stood outside, wanting to speak to Him. Someone told Him, “Your mother and brothers are standing outside, wanting to speak to you.” He replied to him, “Who is my mother, and who are my brothers?” Pointing to His disciples, He said, “Here are my mother and my brothers. For whoever does the will of my Father in heaven is my brother and sister and mother.”
~ Matthew 12:46

Can you hear the words?

18

“Jesus said, “Father, forgive them, for they know not what they do.”
~ Luke 23:34

Can you see the expression?

38

“… his appearance was so disfigured beyond that of any man and His form marred beyond human likeness…”
~ Isaiah 52:14

Can you feel the embrace?

44

“See, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands.”
~ Isaiah 49:16

30

“He was put to death in the body but made alive in the Spirit.”
~ 1 Peter 3:18

46

“He was wounded for our transgressions, He was bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was upon Him; and with His stripes we are healed.”
~ Isaiah 53:5

59

Jesus was not a man. He IS not a man.

“Where, O death, is your victory?”

69

“Where, O death, is your sting?”

70

“On the first day of the week, very early in the morning, the women took the spices they had prepared and went to the tomb. They found the stone rolled away from the tomb, but when they entered, they did not find the body of the Lord Jesus. While they were wondering about this, suddenly two men in clothes that gleamed like lightning stood beside them. In their fright the women bowed down with their faces to the ground, but the men said to them, “Why do you look for the living among the dead? He is not here; He has risen!”
~ Luke 24:1-6

Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends.

~ John 15:13

Carlo Dolci, "Christ as the Man of Sorrows"

Carlo Dolci, “Christ as the Man of Sorrows”

Hallelujah, our Lord is not dead. He is risen! Wishing a blessed Easter to you all,

Amen.

