Tags

, , , , ,

Blog Hands Bible

Ever since I can remember, my grandmother has always said that I was her birthday present.

Just delivered a day late.

Having birthdays just a day apart has created a special bond between us. That, and the fact that as far as grandchildren go, it’s just me. One lowly granddaughter for her. But I think we both recognized the unique blessing that was. We could spend time together, just the two of us, without any trouble at all.

The LORD is good, a refuge in times of trouble.

~ Nahum 1:7

Grandma taught me how to play Chinese Checkers at an extremely young age, and it will forever be “our game”. We don’t get to play often as she doesn’t live as close as I’d like, but when we do, we still use the same two sets of marbles that we’ve used since the very beginning.

This is a detail from last year’s painting “Self-Portrait of the Artist at Twenty-Five“. Those are the dominoes and marbles that grandma and I have played with for nearly 30 years.

As a little girl, playing dominoes with her helped me to learn counting. I still marvel to this day at how sharp her mind is when it comes to adding numbers. (Not surprisingly, she worked in a bank for a long time, and was in charge of budgeting and management at the hospital for many years as well. I can’t imagine why I’m such an organized person… ;P) Grandma ALWAYS added up our long, trailing scores in her head – but out loud so that I would learn to do it too.

When Jesus spoke again to the people, He said, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.

~ John 8:12

I boast two middle names: Barbara Pauline. One for each grandmother – and she’s the Pauline. These days, I approach our nightly phone calls with mixed emotions. One one hand, she’s my grandma and I love her dearly, and I like knowing that she’s made it through another day. But talking to her also fills me with a little sadness. Time waits for no man (or woman). Her mind is wearing out. She’s becoming a little more forgetful as the days pass. But there’s a very good reason for that.

Today is her 90th birthday.

The LORD will be king over the whole earth. On that day there will be one LORD, and His name the only name.

~ Zechariah 14:9

90 years old. Nearly an entire century on this earth. Let that sink in for a moment. When I think of the incredible range of things she’s seen, I don’t really know what to say. She lived through the Dirty Thirties: The Great Depression and the Dust Bowl (she was born and raised in Saskatchewan). She knows what it was like to live with no electricity, having to read by lamplight in the darkness. And no indoor plumbing! When it was time for her to go to high school, she had to board in town all week… a mere 15 minute drive with today’s cars, on today’s roads.

Again, I tell you that if two of you on earth agree about anything you ask for, it will be done for you by my Father in heaven. For where two or three come together in my name, there am I with them.

~ Matthew 18:19-20

Automobiles, the advent of television, the first man on the moon. Her brother, Ross, was named after an uncle who lost his life in the First World War, and before they were married, her husband survived one of the most dangerous positions in WWII. She too was all set to enlist, but in an answer to her mother’s most fervent prayers, a local job opened up for her and the family was spared the fear of her participating in what became the most deadly of wars.

She remembers a loaf of bread when it was worth pennies, and she’s sees it now at $2+. Airplanes, jets, computers, the internet… I can’t even imagine what that’s like, to live through so many massive changes in just one lifetime.

Have we not all one Father? Did not one God create us? Why do we profane the covenant of our fathers by breaking faith with one another?

~ Malachi 2:10

She’s had more broken bones than any of us can even begin to count, and she’s none too steady on her feet anymore, but by golly, she’s 90 years old and she’s still kicking.

This is the bread that came down from heaven, Your forefathers ate manna and died, but he who feeds on this bread will life forever.

~ John 6:58

How perfect that her birthday is falling on the first Sunday of the month. It only seemed appropriate to dedicated today’s scripture post to her. I spent the day with her yesterday to celebrate our birthdays and I asked her what some of her favourite verses were so that I could build this post around them. (All the quotes interspersed in this post are her selections.) Wouldn’t you know it, the old girl can still quote the Bible without too much trouble at all. She may forget what the weather is a mere two minutes after I’ve told her for the third time, but one thing she’ll never forget is our Lord.

Or that she loves me. No, I’m not flattering myself there. She tells me that every night. “One thing I’ll never forget is that I love my Wendy.”

August 1, 2015 - With Grandma for Blog

And I love you too, Grandma. Always and forever. Happy Birthday. ♥

The Spirit of God has made me; the breath of the Almighty gives me life.

~ Job 33:4

Note: Upon publishing, WordPress informed me that this is my … guess what? … 90th post.

90

