Tags

, , , , ,

Guido Reni St Joseph with the infant Jesus

The Lord is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge. He is my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.

~ Psalm 18:2

Francesco de Mura, Saint John the Baptist, 18th century

You will again have compassion on us; you will tread our sins underfoot and hurl all our iniquities into the depths of the sea.

~ Micah 7:19

Caravaggio - Saint John the Baptist - 1604

Deliver me, O my God, from the hand of the wicked, from the grasp of evil and cruel men.

~ Psalm 71:4

Sandro Botticelli, Study of St. John the Baptist

Remember your word to your servant, for you have given me hope. My comfort in my suffering is this: Your promise preserves my life.

~ Psalm 119:49

Carol Crivelli, Saint John the Baptist

Have mercy on me, O God, according to your unfailing love; according to your great compassion blot out my transgressions. Wash away all my iniquity and cleanse me from my sin.

~ Psalm 51:1

Alessandro Allori The Preaching of St John the Baptist

The Lord is compassionate and gracious, slow to anger, abounding in love. He will not always accuse, nor will He harbor His anger forever; He does not treat us as our sins deserve or repay us according to our iniquities. For as high as the heavens are above the earth, so great is His love for those who fear Him; as far as the east is from the west, so far has He removed our transgressions from us.

~ Psalm 103:8

Antonio d’Enrico (Tanzio da Varallo), Saint John the Baptist, 17th Century

Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice. Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.

~ Ephesians 4:31


Note: Today’s paintings are: Guido Reni’s “St. Joseph with the Infant Jesus”, 1635 (header image); Francesco de Mura’s, “Saint John the Baptist”, 18th century; Caravaggio’s “Saint John the Baptist”, 1604; Sandro Botticelli’s “Study of St. John the Baptist”; Carlo Crivelli’s “Saint John the Baptist” (from The Demidoff Altarpiece), 1476; Alessandro Allori’s “The Preaching of St. John the Baptist”, 1601-03; and Antonio d’Enrico (Tanzio da Varallo)’s “Saint John the Baptist”, 17th century.

