Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

blog-christ-and-serpent-header-image2

If I were a voting American, on Tuesday I’d “spoil” my ballot with “Truth and Love, Jesus is His name”. Today’s verses are for any of you who are feeling anxious or afraid about the impending election (or anything else, for that matter). Always remember the One who is watching over us.

Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.

You, Lord, keep my lamp burning; my God turns my darkness into light.

~ Psalm 18:28

blog-simon-dewey-lead-kindly-light

Many are the plans in a man’s heart, but it is the LORD’s purpose that prevails.

~ Proverbs 19:21

blog-ivan-aivazovsky-christ-walks-on-water-1888

I urge, then, first of all, that requests, prayers, intercession and thanksgiving be made for everyone — for kings and all those in authority, that we may live peaceful and quiet lives in all godliness and holiness. This is good, and pleases God our Savior, who wants all men to be saved and to come to a knowledge of the truth. For there is one God and one mediator between God and men, the man Christ Jesus, who gave Himself as a ransom for all men — the testimony given in its proper time.

~ 1 Timothy 2:1-7

blog-william-holman-hunt-the-light-of-the-world-detail

But blessed is the one who trusts in the Lord, whose confidence is in Him. They will be like a tree planted by the water that sends out its roots by the stream. It does not fear when heat comes; its leaves are always green. It has no worries in a year of drought and never fails to bear fruit.

~ Jeremiah 17:7-8

blog-raphael-the-miraculous-draught-of-fishes-1515-16

He changes times and seasons; He sets up kings and deposes them. He gives wisdom to the wise and knowledge to the discerning.

~ Daniel 2:21

blog-circle-of-jacopo-palma-il-giovane-christ-before-pilate-17th-century

Everyone must submit himself to the governing authorities, for there is no authority except that which God has established. The authorities that exist have been established by God.

~ Romans 13:1

blog-luca-giordano-the-calling-of-peter-and-andrew

“What then shall we say? Is God unjust? Not at all! For He says to Moses, “I will have mercy on whom I have mercy, and I will have compassion on whom I have compassion.”

It does not, therefore, depend on man’s desire or effort, but on God’s mercy. For the Scripture says to Pharaoh: “I raised you up for this very purpose, that I might display my power in you and that my name might be proclaimed in all the earth.”

Therefore God has mercy on whom He wants to have mercy, and He hardens whom He wants to harden. One of you will say to me: “Then why does God still blame us? For who resists his will?” But who are you, O man, to talk back to God? “Shall what is formed say to him who formed it, ‘Why did you make me like this?'” Does not the potter have the right to make out of the same lump of clay some pottery for noble purposes and some for common use?

What if God, choosing to show His wrath and make His power known, bore with great patience the objects of His wrath — prepared for destruction? What if He did this to make the riches of His glory known to the objects of His mercy, whom He prepared in advance for glory — even us, whom He also called, not only from the Jews but also from the Gentiles?”

~ Romans 9:14-24

blog-gerrit-van-honthorst-holy-family-in-the-carpentry-shop

I will say of the LORD, “He is my refuge and my fortress, my God, in whom I trust.” Surely He will save you from the fowler’s snare and from the deadly pestilence. He will cover you with His feathers, and under His wings you will find refuge; His faithfulness will be your shield and rampart. You will not fear the terror of night, nor the arrow that flies by day, nor the pestilence that stalks in the darkness, nor the plague that destroys at midday. A thousand may fall at your side, ten thousand at your right hand, but it will not come near you. You will only observe with your eyes and see the punishment of the wicked.

Psalm 91:2-8


Notes: Today’s paintings are: Simon Dewey’s “Lead Kindly Light”; Ivan Aivazovsky’s “Christ Walks on Water”, 1888; William Holman Hunt’s “The Light of the World”, 1904; Raphael’s “The Miraculous Draught of Fishes”, 1515-16; “Christ Before Pilate”, attributed to the Circle of Jacopo Palma il Giovane, 17th century; Luca Giordano’s “The Calling of Peter and Andrew”; and Gerrit van Honthorst’s “The Holy Family in the Carpenter Shop”. Header image is “Christ and the Brazen Serpent”, attributed to Peter Paul Rubens and Studio.

