Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Like, zoinks, man — time sure flies when you’re having fun collecting Scooby-Doo memorabilia! Our last tour was not so long ago, but it was posted horribly late (just like this one, lol!), so here we are again to wander the cold, dark, possibly haunted (but not really) corner of my Scooby-Doo-laden closet. Let’s find out what groovy pieces I added to the collection in 2023.

You know what? Let’s start out with a bang this time and take a look at some of my favourite new items. Beginning with a two-for-one Hanna-Barbera special: These rare 1979 Lakeside Toy Teeter Totter Scooby Laff-a-Lympics and Yogi Bear watches, not mint, but happily still on card.

I first saw this wonderful old advertisement on a friend’s blog many, many years ago, and immediately fell in love with these watches because come on, how often do you see Laff-a-Lympics stuff??

Do I collect Yogi Bear? Well, no, buuuut… I mean, I DO have a few vintage Yogi pieces, and since it was in the advertisement, I thought how cool would it be to print the ad and display the watches together, so………. yeah, here we are!

I also added a first to my collection in 2023 — my very first animation cels! :D

These incredible Scrappy animation cels are from “The 13 Ghosts of Scooby-Doo”, and were a Christmas gift from Nikki. These couldn’t have been more perfect for me, and I love them so, so much. Original artwork AND it’s Scrappy?! Zoinks, yes, please, thank you, Nikki!  😍

Nikki also drew me these two super sweet cards in 2023. 🥰

Next up was my birthday haul from my dad. First, I absolutely love (if you couldn’t tell) this 1984 Scooby and Scrappy with ghostie friend ceramic nightlight lamp. Mine is missing its innards, but I knew that I was going to just display it anyway so didn’t mind.

I also made a deal for this big lot of Christmassy goodness on eBay: 7 Scooby Christmas ornaments and a string of Christmas lights dated 2001.

Unfortunately (or fortunately? Depends on how you look at it!) when they arrived, one of the ornaments was broken, and the lights no longer worked. Ebay ended up refunding my entire purchase, shipping too, plus I got to keep everything. So that was a real birthday gift for sure!

Also shown in that first photo are a Poshmark bundle: The plush bedtime and witch Scoobies from 1998. And the seller threw in the mini bedtime Scooby too—ain’t he adorable??

You may have also noticed that I scored another French Scooby mustard glass, this one featuring Scooby on a skateboard.

There’s sadly a little chunk of glass missing from the bottom, something the seller did not disclose to me prior to purchase, but promised free shipping the next time I ordered something from him… :P

I added another Scooby USB (for a whopping $4.11!) to my previous Emtec one:

And these cute little Italian Kinder/Parmalat Surprise Egg Scooby and Shaggy figures.

How about these sweetie-pie vinyl Scrappy keychains—available in both “chee, Uncle Scooby” and “them’s fightin’ words” moods!

I picked up a few more pins in 2023 too: A regular Scooby gang as well as this fun and unique Scooby Ghost Gang!

The only Scooby-Doo Barbie that I had in my collection prior to 2023 was the 2002 live-action Scooby-Doo movie Daphne. So I was over the moon to finally snag the 2000 Scooby-Doo “The Great Amusement Park Caper” Daph! Check out that radical pink outfit, Scooby-Doo!

How about a celebratory 1998 Scooby Pop Tops cake topper…

… some Scooby Croc charms …

… an overpriced reusable bag from Giant Tiger …

… and yet another extra kooky Scooby QSL card!

My favourite local haunt, Chat Noir Books, dished up a couple of surprise Scoobies for me this year: Some character pins and a set of magnetic bookmarks. (Not pictured but I did go back and find Scooby and Velma character pins too.)

I added two Scooby-Doo Annuals (1984 and 1986) to my collection:

I also found two more vintage Scooby comics, #27 (Aug. 1974), and #28 (Oct. 1974); and got this beautiful 1981 Les Adventures de Scoubidou #1 French paperback too.

On occasion, I like to share the goodness of Scooby with others, so when I won this lot of vintage Hallmark Canada Scooby-Doo birthday party invitations, I sent a few off to my Scooby friends.

And I couldn’t resist getting this Scooby birthday card for myself.

At Christmas time, I was fortunate to find a new roll of Scooby Doo wrapping paper at Winners:

Here’s a cute Charlie the Robot figure from Handmade By Robots — my first one!

Now, my next item is also a figure from Handmade By Robots, but it’s super special and has an even more super special story attached to it.

In February 2022, we at the Scooby Panel had the pleasure of meeting Handmade By Robots creator Mary Olson and lead artist Justin Hillgrove, who spoke about the company and their unique figures. But the real treat was watching Justin design a brand new figure live on the call!

Nikki, Cam and I were happily throwing out suggestions for what Scooby characters we’d love to see turned into figures, and then we watched in awe and wonderment as Justin created a Vincent Van Ghoul (“13 Ghosts of Scooby-Doo”) right before our very eyes.

Less than a month later on March 4, 2022, Mary let us know that the design had been approved by Warner Bros and was going into production!

And then a year later on April 15, 2023, I ordered my very own genuine licensed Vincent Van Ghoul figure!!

With my custom Vincent Van Ghoul crystal ball in the background!

This was an incredible experience, and we can’t thank Mary and Justin enough for allowing us to be a part of the creative process from start to finish, and for giving Scooby fans a spooktacular figure to enjoy!

In January 2023, Nikki and I spoke with author John Sazaklis about his Scooby-Doo Mini Mysteries Book series.

We had such a fun time with John, and I snagged myself a signed copy of “The Spooky Space Ghost”. ♥

John also included these Scoob-a-rific stickers too, thanks, John!

Okay, just one more piece to share before we transition into the gifts portion of our blog post — and it’s a dilly!

You KNOW how much I love Scrappy… and vintage… and pink… so this 1982 plastic Scrappy-Doo drinking cup was a no-brainer for my collection.


And there we go! Now, let us now shift gears and transition to the exclusively “Gifts” portion of my 2023 Scooby haul. I am so fortunate and blessed to have a number of wonderful enablers friends who gifted me so many incredible Scooby items this year—the gifts actually make up a full 50% of my new items!

In keeping with the Scrappy theme, we’ll first look at one of my favourite pieces: A 1980 Canada’s Wonderland Scrappy Doo glass!

My best friend, Krystal, found this gem at the thrift store and I couldn’t believe my eyes! You guys know that Scrappy amusement park memorabilia is my favourite thing. ♥

She also got me this fun Scooby-Doo cookbook for Christmas, that has surprisingly delicious sounding recipes:

I really love these little 2001 Applause plush Mummy and Witch Scoobies that another friend gifted me…

… and this rare 1985 Procter & Gamble Dividend Day pin!  😍

Cameron sent me a massive box filled with all sorts of Scoo-dies (can I make that a word, no?), including some shirts, PJ pants, activity books…

… and the freakin’ adorable Scuba-Dooby-Doo Funko 2023 Summer Convention limited edition Pop! figure.

Isn’t he CUTE!?

These Funko Blockbuster Rewind VHS figures of Shaggy and Velma are also really cute, and the VHS tape packaging is so fun and unique (though I wish they’d have used a different cover for each figure.) And I’m so happy to be adding three of the 1999 Bama “Scooby-Doo and the Witch’s Ghost” jelly jars (#1,4 and 6) to my collection too!

And how could this Northern Snow Queen not be tickled with a groovy new tie-dyed Scooby toque and scarf for winter?? Always looking out for me, thanks, Cam! ♥

Nikki got me this neat Scooby gang tee (and it has Scrappy, yay!!):

As well as this really cool 1994 Cartoon Network Scrappy whistle:

And a real vintage treasure — a 1977 Scooby and Shaggy Pepsi glass!

Over the last few years, I’ve really taken a shine to model painting. Well, my friend Joel (be sure to check out Planet Scooby over on YouTube) has been gifting me some incredible 3D printed models that I’m so excited to paint! We saw classic Daphne and Scrappy in last year’s haul post, and in 2023, boy, did he further add to my 3D collection!!!

Like, zoinks! Firstly, Joel completed my classic Scooby line-up with Fred, Velma, Shaggy, and Scooby.

Then he totally surprised me with these outrageous “A Pup Named Scooby-Doo” figures! Fred, Daphne, Shaggy, Scooby and Red Herring, as well as the Chest of Demons from “13 Ghosts”! (yes, there are also Gruesomes figures because I have the best friends and they all spoil the heck out of me!!)

For Christmas 2023, Megan got me two of my grail wish list items: the vintage Betty Crocker Pioneer Scooby-Doo Party Cake Candle — he’s teeny and adorable at only 3″ high!

And a rare, elusive figure that I have been wanting for SO long:

This spook-tacular Jekyll and Hyde Scooby figure! He’s just one of a set of 7 Burger King toys from Argentina. The killer “Monstruos de Scooby” (Scooby’s Monstrosities) figures are dated 2007 and are quite simply the greatest example of a fast food toy that currently exists, in my opinion.

And here’s a little sneak preview of next year’s 2024 Scooby Haul post…

Just after Christmas, Cameron got me the rest of the set of monster figures!!! These are some of my favourite pieces in my entire collection. I mean, just look at how well designed these Scooby monsters are! Thank you so much, Cam, for hunting these down and making sure I got them. ♥

Nikki and I have had the opportunity to meet so many special people on the Scooby Panel, people who made a huge impact on our lives long before we ever even knew their names. One such person is artist/animator Jerry Eisenberg.

When we sat down with Jerry (and his doll of a wife Raymonde) on March 1, 2023, by the end of more than 3 hours of filming, one thing was clear: We LOVE Jerry!

I sent Jerry and Raymonde a card a few months later, and was a little overwhelmed when I opened my mailbox to find an envelope with Scooby staring back at me! Jerry sent me this beautiful illustration and I was tickled that he included Canadian What A Cartoon legends Yoink and Noof. Thank you, Jerry, for being you! ♥

Okay, I know at the beginning of this post I said that I was starting with some of my favourite pieces, and that was true. But… I did save the very best for last. You probably shouldn’t say that when your friends got you so many wonderful gifts, but I’m pretty sure that all of them will forgive me for picking a favourite item this time.

I was 9 years old when my dad brought home issue #1 of the new Archie Comics Scooby-Doo series in 1995. The concept of the cover was cool, but I wasn’t crazy about the illustration style.

However, after the first issue, a new artist took over illustrating the majority of the remaining covers. And they were amazing. Then when I saw the cover for issue #9 (my favourite comic book cover of all time)—I was truly in love and very much inspired.

Years later, after DC took over the Scooby license and was 100+ issues deep in their own series, I wrote a letter commenting on a particular artist’s continuously pitch-perfect renditions of the Scooby gang. Little did I know that this was the same artist who had created those beautiful Archie covers that I loved so much.

In fact, it was many more years after that—15 to be exact—before I realized how connected all of this was, and how my life was about to come full circle in a way that I never dreamed possible. It was only when Nikki told me we were going to interview Scott Jeralds for the Panel that everything finally clicked into place.

Because as it turned out, Scott was the artist whose work I’d been admiring all this time; the artist who drew my beloved Archie Scooby covers, and the artist who drew the Scooby gang perfectly where all others failed to do so for DC… and now… I was going to meet him…

They say don’t meet your heroes because they’ll disappoint you. But there’s always an exception to the rule. Over the past two years, I have gotten to know not only the artist *Scott Jeralds*, but also Scott, the man. He’s no longer just the stranger who drew Scooby in comic books, now he’s one of my closest and dearest friends. Scott is the single sweetest person I have ever met in my entire life, he’s someone that I trust and confide in, a master who mentors me, and for some still unknown reason has come to value my artistic eye and opinion on his own work. When I think of how much joy and happiness you now bring to each and every day, well, to quote Julie Andrews, “somewhere in my youth or childhood, I must have done something good.”

Now, before I bring Scott to tears here (joking, I probably already did!), let me show you what Scott gifted me last year. I didn’t think that anything would ever take the place of my giant Mighty Star Toys Scooby as my #1 Scooby collectible, but as I announced in our 2023 Christmas Scooby Panel, this just did:

It’s Scott’s original pencil artwork for the Archie Scooby Comic #9 cover!! And the original is even more spectacular than the coloured cover itself. To say that this humbled me is an understatement. Scott had told me that if he could find it, he’d send it to me, but while he easily dug up most of the other covers….. he couldn’t find this one. You know, for someone who now can’t keep any surprises from me, Scott was pretty sneaky about this and for months had me thinking it was lost to eternity.

That is until I opened up the package… and there it was. I described it on the Panel as a grail item that you don’t even think is attainable. And now it’s right here with me, “Where it belongs,” according to Scott. Thank you, my dear.  🥰

Now, in addition to my beloved were-Scoob cover, Scott also gifted me soooo many more pieces of original artwork: The original cover drawing for other Scooby Archie comic covers #5,6,11,13,15,16,18,19,20.

And a really super neat unpublished comic book cover featuring a killer composition that features a mad scientist and monster Scrappy!

I’m also very much in love with this artwork for a 5-page Halloween issue story that Scott illustrated:

Scott then sent me a selection of signed comics that he did cover and/or interior artwork for:

The Batman Scooby-Doo Mysteries #4 was a gift from Nikki, which she sent to Scott to sign for me ♥

And finally, because Scott is literally the best, for Christmas he gave me these wonderful 1988 acrylic Scooby and Scrappy Hanna-Barbera Christmas ornaments. (He also included a Dino and Fred Flintstone too, not shown.)

Aren’t they sweet??? ♥♥♥

Well, gang, it looks like that wraps up another mystery — the mystery of how many Scoobarific new items I added to my collection in 2023. Clearly the pieces that I buy for myself are things I love and want, and I’m very proud of how carefully I curate my collection. But I honestly have some of the best friends in the world who put so much thought into what they add to my collection too, always gifting me pieces that they know I’ll love and would choose for myself. That means the world to me, and so to all of my friends, guys, I love you all so, so much, thank you for everything. I will cherish each and every piece I’ve been gifted, and most importantly the memories that go along with them.

So until the next collection tour, Scooby fans, when we’ll take a look at what I end up acquiring in 2024. As of April, I already have a number of super duper awesome things that I can’t wait to share with you all next year. Until then, staaaay spooky! (Sorry, Joel! Everyone really do be sure to go check out Joel on YouTube at Planet Scooby, he’s pretty awesome!!)