Tags

, , , , ,

Wendy Brydge - Armageddon - 2012

I believe in one God, His name is Jesus. Father TRUTH, Spirit LOVE, Son the FORM of God. Philip said, “Lord, show us the Father and that will be enough for us.” Jesus answered: “Don’t you know me, Philip, even after I have been among you such a long time? Anyone who has seen me has seen the Father.”

I just celebrated my 30th birthday this past week, so today’s post is my own favourite scripture verses and paintings.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

I am not ashamed of the gospel of Jesus Christ: for it is the power of God unto salvation to every one that believeth.

~ Romans 1:16

Leonardo Da Vinci - Salvator Mundi

I eagerly expect and hope that I will in no way be ashamed, but will have sufficient courage so that now as always Christ will be exalted in my body, whether by life or by death. For to me, to live is Christ and to die is gain.

~ Phillipians 1:20

Caravaggio, Judith Beheading Holofernes c1598

A simple man believes anything, but a prudent man gives thoughts to his steps.

~ Proverbs 14:15

St. John the Baptist

The LORD is my light and my salvation–whom shall I fear? The LORD is the stronghold of my life–of whom shall I be afraid? When evil men advance against me to devour my flesh (to slander me), when my enemies and my foes attack me, they will stumble and fall. Though an army besiege me, my heart will not fear; though war break out against me, even then will I be confident. One thing I ask of the LORD, this is what I seek: that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to gaze upon the beauty of the LORD and to seek Him in His temple. For in the day of trouble He will keep me safe in His dwelling; He will hide me in the shelter of His tabernacle and set me high upon a rock.

~ Psalm 27

Georges Auguste Elie Lavergne - David With the Head of Goliath - 1894

Jesus answered, “I am the Way, the Truth and the Life. No one comes to the Father except through me. If you really knew me, you would know my Father as well. From now on, you do know Him and have seen Him.”

~ John 14:6

Caravaggio - Doubting Thomas

If the world hates you, keep in mind that it hated me first. If you belonged to the world, it would love you as its own. As it is, you do not belong to the world, but I have chosen you out of the world. That is why the world hates you. Remember the words I spoke to you: ‘No servant is greater than his master.’ If they persecuted me, they will persecute you also.

~ John 15:18-21

Salvador Dali - Christ of Saint John of the Cross - 1951

And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through Him.

~ Colossians 3:17

Albrecht Durer Self Portrait at Twenty-Eight

Moreover, when God gives any man wealth and possessions, and enables him to enjoy them, to accept his lot and be happy in his work–this is a gift of God.

~ Ecclesiastes 5:19


Notes: Today’s paintings are: Leonardo Da Vinci’s “Salvator Mundi”; Caravaggio’s “Judith Beheading Holofernes”, 1598; Leonardo Da Vinci’s “St. John the Baptist”, 1513-16; Georges Auguste Elie Lavergne’s “David With the Head of Goliath”, 1894; Caravaggio’s “The Incredulity of Thomas”, 1602; Salvador Dali’s “Christ of Saint John of the Cross”, 1951; and Albrecht Dürer’s “Self-Portrait at Twenty-Eight”, 1500. Today’s header image is my painting “Armageddon“, 2012.